France retains Jalibert for Georgia clash

France coach Fabien Galthie has kept faith with Romain Ntamack and Matthieu Jalibert for Sunday’s rugby Test against Georgia in Bordeaux after a disappointing show against Argentina last weekend.

Jalibert will start again at half-time along with half-time Antoine Dupont and Ntamack is launched at the center while the French staff are looking to accelerate the team’s creativity ahead of a long-awaited clash against New Zealand on November 20.

Ntamack, who has been Galthie’s favorite midfielder since taking over after the 2019 World Cup, failed to find his way into Les Bleus ’29-20 win over Argentina last Saturday and was replaced after 50 minutes.

“We’re trying to build an organization. Those 50 minutes together left a sense of incompleteness but we’re starting again with another week of work under our belt,” said Galthie, who made five changes to the team that started against Argentina. a press conference on Friday.

“We’re looking to be more competitive with this combination.”

Four of the changes were among the forwards, with Uini Atonio starting at backup after missing the opening game of the fall series with an injury, Galthie said.

Gregory Alldritt is back at number eight instead of Anthony Jelonch, who slips to left side winger while Sekou Macalou starts right with Cameron Woki moving rank up to the second row – meaning Francois Cros will be on the bench.

Thibaud Flament, who produced an impressive performance against Argentina, will be on the bench with Paul Willemse after the pair of locks began last Saturday.

On the back line, Matthis Lebert will get his first cap when he starts on the left side.

Team: 15-Melvyn Jaminet, 14-Damian Penaud, 13-Gael Fickou, 12-Romain Ntamack, 11-Matthis Lebel, 10-Matthieu Jalibert, 9-Antoine Dupont (cap.), 8-Gregory Madrittkalou 7, -Sekou Madrittkalou 6-Anthony Jelonch, 5-Romain Taofifenua, 4-Cameron Woki, 3-Uini Antonio, 2-Julien Marchand, 1-Cyril Baille. Res: 16-Peato Mauvaka, 17-Jean-Baptiste Gros, 18-Demba Bamba, 19-Thibaud Flament, 20-Paul Willemse, 21-Francois Cros, 22-Maxime Lucu, 23-Jonathan Danty.


Leave a Comment